UGC creator rates in the UK, 2026: What brands pay per video, and how to start without a following

content the four paths

In June 2026, the UK creator agency Whito published rate benchmarks putting a single user-generated content video, made for a brand's own channels, at £50 to £250. That is the entry price of a content income that needs no following at all. The brand supplies the product and the brief; the creator supplies a phone, a voice and an evening.

The demand side is growing. Marketing Week reported on 15 September 2026 that IAB UK and the Institute for Advertising and Media Statistics project UK creator partnership revenue of £1.217 billion in 2026, up 26% on 2025, and that 55% of the UK marketers surveyed named short-form video as the biggest opportunity. One in five said they work with between 250 and 999 creators a year. Most of those creators are not famous. Many of them have jobs.

This post sets out what UK brands are reported to pay per video in 2026, how usage rights change the price, the disclosure rules that apply to faceless and AI-assisted work, where brands actually find creators, and the tax position once the money arrives. It ends with a worked example of ten videos a month and a plan for the first five paid videos.

Content without an audience

Free ebook: The Content Starter Guide

How content actually earns, and which way in is right for you.

What UGC is, and why it pays without followers

User-generated content, in the commercial sense, is video or photography made by an ordinary person for a brand to publish on the brand's own channels and in its own paid advertising. The creator is not an influencer. The video does not go on the creator's account, so the size of the creator's audience is irrelevant to the buyer. What the brand is paying for is a credible face, a clean script and a file it can run as an advert.

That distinction is what makes UGC the most accessible content income for an employed professional. Whito's June 2026 research, updated on 11 September 2026, states that rates depend on engagement, niche, format, usage rights and exclusivity far more than on follower count. For UGC delivered to brand-owned channels, follower count drops out of the equation entirely. A professional with expertise in engineering, finance, health or software has a natural niche, and regulated niches are reported to command higher rates.

The UK rate benchmarks for 2026, as reported

Three named 2026 reports give overlapping but not identical ranges, and it is worth seeing all three because they disagree at the edges. Whito (June 2026) puts nano creators with 500 to 10,000 followers at £20 to £150 a post, micro creators at £80 to £1,500, and a UGC video for a brand's own channels at £50 to £250, with Reels and TikTok formats 25% to 50% above static posts. Whito cites Influencer Marketing Hub, Shopify, Meltwater, Hootsuite, Collabstr and Influee as its sources rather than a survey of its own.

Velena Lifestyle's UGC Rates Report UK 2026, published on 24 July 2026, gives per-video rates with organic-only rights of £50 to £150 for beginners, £150 to £350 for established creators and £350 to £700 and above for creators with proven advertising performance. FluxNote's UK guide, dated 24 June 2026, runs higher: £100 to £200 for a first-three-month beginner, £200 to £400 once established and £350 to £800 after a year, with expert monthly retainers reported at £1,500 to £4,000. FluxNote does not disclose its data source, so treat it as the optimistic end.

Line item Reported UK range, 2026 Source and date
UGC video, brand-owned channels£50 to £250Whito, June 2026
Beginner, organic rights£50 to £150 (Velena) / £100 to £200 (FluxNote)24 July 2026 / 24 June 2026
Established creator, organic rights£150 to £350 (Velena) / £200 to £400 (FluxNote)As above
Proven ad performance£350 to £700+ (Velena) / £350 to £800 (FluxNote)As above
Paid usage, 3 to 6 months+20% to 40% on baseVelena, 24 July 2026
Paid usage, 12 months+30% to 50% on baseVelena, 24 July 2026
Perpetual paid usage+100% to 150% on baseVelena, 24 July 2026
Raw footage supplied+20% to 50% on baseVelena, 24 July 2026

All of these are reported ranges from rate guides, not audited transaction data, and none of the three publishes a sample size. The consistent signal across them is the shape: a beginner is quoted at roughly £50 to £150 a video, an established creator at £150 to £350, and the step up beyond that is earned by showing that your videos sell.

Usage rights: The line that doubles the price

The base rate buys the brand the right to post the video on its own organic channels. The moment the brand wants to put money behind it as a paid advert, the licence changes and so does the price. Velena's July 2026 report puts the uplift at 20% to 40% for three to six months of paid usage, 30% to 50% for 12 months and 100% to 150% for perpetual rights. FluxNote's June 2026 guide describes a standard UK agreement as three to six months of paid usage, with extensions charged at 30% to 50% of the original fee for each further three-month term.

The reason it matters is arithmetic. A £150 video with perpetual paid rights, at the reported uplift, is £300 to £375. A brief that quietly asks for "full rights, all channels, in perpetuity" at the base price is asking for the expensive licence at the cheap price. The first skill in UGC is not filming. It is reading the rights clause and pricing it.

"A brand does not pay for a video. It pays for the right to use a video, and the rights are where the money is."

Faceless and AI-assisted UGC: What the rules say

Not everyone wants their face in an advert, and an employed professional may have good reasons to keep it out. Faceless UGC, which is product-in-hand footage, voiceover and screen capture, is an established format, and AI tools now generate scripts, voices and even presenters. The rules have caught up in 2026, and they run in two layers.

The first layer is the UK advertising code. The Advertising Standards Authority's advice on recognising ads, updated on 6 August 2026, requires any paid content to be obviously identifiable as advertising, with a prominent label such as "Ad", "Advert" or "Ad Feature" placed upfront; "Sponsored", "Gifted" and "In association with" are named as insufficient. For content that a brand publishes on its own channels the labelling duty sits with the publisher, but if a brand pays you to post a video on your own account, that post is an advert and you must label it. On AI, CAP's published position, as summarised in law firm briefings in 2026, is that the ad-label duty is unchanged and that marketers should ask whether the audience would be misled if the use of AI were not disclosed.

The second layer is European. The European Commission's guidance confirms that Article 50 of the EU AI Act applied from 2 August 2026, requiring deployers to disclose deepfake content clearly at first exposure, and that providers located outside the EU are in scope where their AI output is used in the EU. Systems already on the market have until 2 December 2026 to meet the machine-readable marking rule. A UK creator supplying AI-generated video to a brand advertising in the EU should therefore expect the brand to ask for disclosure and marking, and should price for it.

Where brands find creators

Brands rarely search social media for UGC creators. They post briefs on marketplaces where creators apply, and the marketplace handles the brief, the product shipment and the payment. Fourthwall's guide, updated on 18 August 2026, names Twirl, JoinBrands, Billo, Social Cat, Minisocial, Insense, Aspire, Cohley, Collabstr and #paid as creator-facing platforms, alongside Fiverr and Upwork for direct freelance briefs. Influencer Marketing Hub's list, updated on 17 September 2026, describes JoinBrands as having more than 250,000 creators and Trend.io as a vetted network.

The practical implication is that a following is not the entry ticket; a portfolio is. Influee's guidance to creators, which the Whito research cites, says that brands on these marketplaces screen on content quality, niche fit, reliability and portfolio rather than on follower count, and that applying to funded briefs beats cold pitching. Three well-made unpaid sample videos, filmed for products you already own, are the whole application.

Is content your path? Start with the free guide

The Content Starter Guide covers how content actually earns, the ways in, and how to choose one subject you can return to for months. Nothing to buy.

Get the free guide →

Worked example: Ten videos a month at £150

The established-creator rate of £150 sits at the bottom of Velena's established range and the top of Whito's brand-channel range, which makes it a fair planning figure for someone six months in. The example below assumes ten videos a month, which is roughly two to three evenings a week of filming and editing once the process is practised.

Worked example: Ten UGC videos a month

Base: 10 × £150 = £1,500 a month, or £18,000 a year. If four of the ten carry 12-month paid usage at the reported +30% uplift, add 4 × £45 = £180 a month. If two supply raw footage at +20%, add 2 × £30 = £60. Monthly gross: £1,740, or £20,880 a year. At three hours a video, that is 30 hours a month, or £58 an hour.

A second income of roughly £20,000 a year, before tax and equipment, from ten videos a month.

Ten paid briefs a month is a pipeline, not a starting point. Marketplace fees, unpaid applications and revision rounds all sit outside these numbers.

The tax consequence follows directly. GOV.UK's guidance on the trading allowance states that the £1,000 allowance is measured on gross trading income, and that if your gross income for a tax year is more than £1,000 you must register for Self Assessment by 5 October in the following tax year. At £18,000 gross, registration is not optional, and you then choose between deducting the £1,000 allowance or your actual expenses, such as lighting, a microphone and editing software, but not both. The post on the 90-day rule is the right frame for deciding whether to push past the allowance at all.

The first five paid videos: A step plan

The gap between reading about UGC and being paid for it is usually five videos wide. The sequence below is designed for someone with evenings only, and it deliberately front-loads the unpaid work so that the paid work arrives with a portfolio behind it.

1
Film three sample videos for products you already own
One unboxing, one problem-and-solution, one talking-head or voiceover review, each 30 to 60 seconds, shot on a phone in daylight. Pick products in the niche your day job gives you authority in. This is the portfolio; nothing else is needed.
2
Write a one-page rate card with rights built in
Base price for organic rights, then a line each for three-month, 12-month and perpetual paid usage, raw footage and extra hook variations, using the reported uplifts above as your starting percentages. Every brief gets priced against this card, never from scratch.
3
Register on two marketplaces and apply to ten funded briefs
Choose two from the named platforms, complete the profile fully, upload the three samples and apply only to briefs that already state a budget. Expect most applications to go nowhere; ten applications for one or two acceptances is a normal early ratio.
4
Deliver the first two paid videos early and ask for the performance data
Hit the brief exactly, deliver a day before the deadline, and then ask the brand how the video performed as an advert. A creator who can say "my last video ran for 90 days on Meta" is the one who moves from the beginner range to the established range.
5
Turn videos three to five into a repeat client
Offer the first satisfied brand a bundle of three videos a month at a small discount to the single rate. One repeat client at three videos a month is a third of the worked example above, and it removes the application effort that eats most beginners' evenings.

Where this fits for a professional with a job

UGC is the content path with the shortest distance to a first payment and the flattest ceiling. The reported rates top out in the hundreds of pounds per video, and every pound is earned by filming again. That is a fair trade for someone who wants a testable second income in 90 days, and a poor one for someone who wants an asset that earns while they sleep. The comparison in the post on LinkedIn newsletters and Substack shows what the asset-building version of content looks like, and the two are not mutually exclusive.

The honest sequence for most employed professionals is to use UGC to learn the craft and cover the equipment, then to point the same camera at a subject of their own. The post on finding time around a full-time job covers the evening system that makes ten videos a month possible without the job noticing.

This article is general information, not legal, financial or tax advice. Rate figures are reported ranges from named third-party guides and are not a promise of what any brand will pay. Advertising and AI rules change; check the ASA and CAP websites and the European Commission's AI Act guidance before relying on them, and take independent advice on your own tax position via GOV.UK.

Build first. Leave second. Choose third. Start with the assessment →

Share this article

Send it to a colleague or anyone it would help.